December 9, 2021

AIRTEL-FUFA Awards: Vipers dominate male player of the year nomination 

By Allan Damba
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

As FUFA continues to celebrate excellent football performers, five players upon which only one will be chosen the 2021 male player of the year have been nominated. It is safe to say Vipers SC has taken the lion’s share of the selection.

The nomination announcement happened at the Malcolm X Hotel, Kololo on Thursday, October 21 under the theme, ‘Celebrating Uganda’s Finest Football Personalities.’

Vipers trio of Yunus Sentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga and Aziz Kayondo were all put in the highly competitive category in what was the Awards Official launch.

They joined the company of Express FC star-forward Erick Kambale and URA FC skipper Shafik Kagimu.

Sentamu together with Kayondo and Byaruhanga won the 2021 edition of the Stanbic Uganda Cup in an 8-1 thumping of BUL FC at FUFA Technical Center, Njeru.

The forward scored four goals in the final to become the first player in the competition’s history to achieve the feat.

He also topped the scoring charts in the 2020/21 StarTimes Uganda Premier League campaign with 16 goals, a season where his team finished third.

Bobosi was just as integral to that Uganda Cup winning team, dictating play from the middle of the park and chipping in with important assists.

Like Kayondo, the midfield prodigy helped the Uganda U20 team to the AFCON final in Mauritania, eventually losing 2-0 to Ghana. He has since earned national senior team call-ups where he has stamped authority on a starting position.

Kayondo could be a surprise inclusion but that can not take away such a memorable year he has had with the Venoms and the national teams.

Kambale’s 15 goals and incredibly consistent performances helped the Red Eagles secure their first league trophy in about a decade.

He guided them to the CECAFA Kagame Cup glory and as well helped them to the Uganda Cup semifinals where they were eliminated by BUL.

Kagimu’s class, consistency and exemplary leadership saw him guide the Tax Collectors to second in the 2020/21, just a point behind Express.

He has also pushed his colleagues to the CAF Confederation Cup second round of the preliminary stage. They managed a barren stalemate against Al-Masry in the first leg played on Saturday at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

It is imperative to note that the StarTimes Uganda Premier League coaches and captains held the nomination mantle.

 Each individual (the coaches and the skippers) nominated five candidates with the eventual winner set to be declared on December 4, 2021, at the Speke Resort Hotel, Munyonyo.

The last time the awards were organized was in 2019, then-KCCA FC player Allan Okello picked up the glamorous accolade, walking away with a brand new car.

It is worth noting that the same did not happen in 2020 due to the prevailing Covid-19 situation that forced a standstill to all sporting events for long spells.

The Airtel-FUFA Female Player of the Year 2021 are Magret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Joan Naggayi (She Maroons FC), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves FC), Fauzia Najjemba (Kampala Queens FC) and Fazila Ikwaput (Lady Doves FC).

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *