January 24, 2022

FIFA WCQ, 2022: Fans to be allowed for Uganda vs Kenya game, only if …

By Baron Kironde
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Uganda fans cheer on their team during a CHAN game in Douala | Photo Credit FUFA Media/XtraTimeSports (Darren McKinstry)

Confederation of African Football (CAF) has lifted the ban of fans in stadia across the continent, however with strict health guidelines that federations must comply without fail.

On Thursday, November 11, Uganda will host Kenya in a crucial World Cup qualification match and FUFA will be required to meet a number of guidelines to allow fans into the St. Mary’s Stadium at Kitende.

One of the key requirements include the stadium being already approved by CAF and a letter from local health authorities giving the green light to fans in stadia. 

In a letter dated November 1st, CAF clearly indicated that any member who wishes to admit fans into the stadium should first of all be able to accommodate them.

“The member should have presented to CAF a letter from the local health authorities of the venue planned for the match confirming that the presence of supporters is authorized and up to what number,” the letter from CAF partly read.

For Uganda’s case, FUFA has to send evidence to CAF that all necessary measures to ensure compliance with the FIFA/CAF Covid-19 match protocol have been taken.

Plus, the Federation must have also appointed a National Safety and Security Officer (NSSO) for the organization of the match, as indicated on the CAF letter.

Cranes’ fans will particularly be elated to learn that they can access the St Mary’s Stadium Kitende on Thursday to watch and support the Uganda Cranes against Kenya.

It has been a long forgotten experience since fans were indefinitely banned from stadia across the continent following the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic in early 2020 to curb the surge in cases.

Meanwhile, up to 20 CAF member associations are still without CAF approved venues, including Mali that will host Uganda in Guinea, not Morocco on Monday, November 15.

The long list also includes Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, CAR, Niger, Liberia, Namibia and Malawi.

The others are; Burundi, Gambia, Eswatini, South Sudan, Somalia, Seychelles, Sao Tome, Lesotho, Chad, Eritrea, Mauritius and Sierra Leone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *