July 5, 2022

Vipers’ Cardoso bemoans refereeing decisions in ‘crucial moments’

By Allan Damba

In the aftermath of their 2-0 humbling by URA FC, Vipers SC deputy head coach, Marcelo Cardoso has partly blamed the result on refereeing decisions during key moments.

Cardoso believes that centre referee Mashood Ssali should have awarded the Venoms a first half penalty when Hudu Mulikyi appeared to have handled the ball in the box.

The contentious moment arrived as the Tax Collectors led 1-0, and if the penalty had been awarded, it would have been an entirely different result, at least according to Cardoso.

“At 1-0, we feel the referee denied us a clear penalty. We believe it should have been rewarded and in such a critical moment, the result would have been different.”

Joachim Ojera scored for the guests in the 17th minute before forward Cromwell Rwothomio sealed the deal in the 75th minute to inflict defeat to the home team.

The Portuguese tactician though believes the game was tight and the result does not entirely imitate what happened on the pitch.

“It was a tight game with a difficult opponent but we had and missed four very good opportunities, including hitting the post twice. They also missed two good ones, so the result would have been different.”

Despite the Taxmen ending the Kitende side’s unbeaten run, Cardoso stressed that they are not worried about throwing away their title chances, especially with only six games played.

“These situations happen in football and so, we are not worried. The boys are giving everything they can but also, it’s still very early in the season. We can not start getting worried about losing the title now.”

Vipers stayed second with 13 points, six adrift of leaders KCCA FC who have played a game more. URA on the other hand lies seventh with ten points after just five games.

How they lined up

Vipers: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Paul Willa, Aziz Kayondo, Livingstone Mulondo, Halid Lwalilwa, Sirajje Ssentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Bright Anukani, Milton Karisa, Ceasor Manzoki, Ibrahim Orit.

Substitutions: Denis Kiggundu (GK), Bashir Asiku, Disan Ggaliwango, David Bagoole, Nelito Tavares, Karim Watambala, Paul Mucureezi.

URA: Hannington Ssebwalunyo (GK), Arafat Ggaliwango, Patrick Mbowa, Ashraf Mandela, Hudu Mulikyi, Moses Sseruyidde, Shafik Kagimu, Cromwell Rwothomio, Steven Mukwala, Saidi Kyeyune, Joachim Ojera.

Substitutions: James Alitho(GK), Najib Fesali, Ibrahim Dada, Living Kabon, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Ivan Sserubiri, Viane Ssekajugo.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.