July 7, 2022

Real Star Awards: U20 duo shortlisted

By Brian Aheebwa
Fauzia Najjemba (R) against Ethiopia in the first round of the 2021 U17 FIFA Women World Cup Qualifier at Lugogo in 2019 / Courtesy Image

Two Uganda Women U20 national team players, goalkeeper Dhapine Nyayenga and captain Fauzia Najjemba have been nominated in the Fortebet Real Stars Awards for November.

Nyayenga appears on the nominees’ list for the first time while it is the second consecutive month that Najjemba is being shortlisted. She lost last month’s award to Uganda Cranes striker Fahad Bayo.

Also on the shortlist is Wakiso Giants FC youngster Titus Ssematimba who is on the coveted list for his maiden time as well.

The Lady Doves WFC custodian, Nyayenga, was brilliant until she conceded three goals in the final game of the inaugural CECAFA U20 Women Championship, as Ethiopia came from 2-0 down to beat Uganda 3-2 at FUFA Technical Center, Njeru early this month.

Before that, she had kept three clean sheets, conceding only four goals in the entire tournament thereby finishing as the best goalkeeper of the tourney.

Her captain, Najjemba was also on top of her game, walking away with the golden boot after scoring the highest number of goals at the tournament, eleven to be particular.

The Kampala Queens WFC skipper found the back of the net in all the six games that Uganda played at the tournament.

Meanwhile, Sematimba has had a vibrant start to life in the Uganda Premier League, having joined the top tier division barely a few months ago from Masaza side Buddu.

The midfielder scored four goals in the Purple Sharks’ previous three games, a brace in both the 3-1 and 3-0 victories over SC Villa and Tooro United respectively, taking his tally to four goals, only one behind URA FC duo, Steven Mukwala and Cromwell Rwothomio who are joint-topscorers on five strikes.

Besides football, Athletics, Badminton and Cricket are the three other categories that will be rewarded.

Athletics: Immaculate Chemutai, Jacob Kiplimo and Victor Kiplangat

Badminton: Hassan Mubiru, Elizabeth Rukundo and Harriet Nakayima

Cricket: Dinesh Nakrani, Frank Nsubuga and Riazat Ali Shah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.