January 24, 2022

SUPL: Bobosi late strike extends KCCA’s winless run at Kitende

By Allan Damba
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

As KCCA FC looked destined to pick their first three points at the St Mary’s Stadium in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League, freshly inducted Male Player of the Year, Bobosi Byaruhanga striked late to extend their dismal run on the grounds.

Despite extending their unbeaten run of the season, KCCA will have to wait for another season to get a victory in Kitende, with the Sunday game ending 2-2.

Goals from Sadat Anaku and substitute Yasser Mugerwa almost ensured the ‘Kasasiro Boys’ walked home with a point whereas  Ceasor Manzoki and Bobosi came through with Venoms’ strikes.

It only took Anaku five minutes to break the deadlock through a masterful thunderbolt past custodian Fabien Mutombora.

The guests came closest to scoring the second but Davis Kasirye’s powerful shot was parried wide by Mutombora.

Congolese-born forward Manzoki levelled matters at 26 minutes with another beauty of the game past goalkeeper Derrick Ochan.

After the introduction of Mugerwa at the interval, he only needed ten minutes to write his name on the scoresheet through a superb half volley to make it 2-1.

With hosts piling more pressure, KCCA’s Musa Ramathan brilliantly cleared a dangerous cross from Manzoki as it nearly found Milton Karisa.

A minute to the 90, Byaruhanga, straight from winning the Male player of the year powered an astonishing strike past Ochan, to salvage a point for the home team.

The result has had the Kitende side stay second on 17 points, level with UPDF who have beaten Bright Stars 2-1 on Sunday.

Vipers will make a trip to Jinja to face Busoga United in their next outing on December 11.

Meanwhile, KCCA who are comfortable on top with 23 points will host Police FC in their incoming fixture on December 10.

How they lined up

Vipers: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Paul Willa, Disan Ggaliwango, Livingstone Mulondo, Halid Lwalilwa (c), Sirajje Ssentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Bright Anukani, Milton Karisa, Ceasor Manzoki, Allan Kayiwa

Substitutions: Denis Kiggundu (GK), Aziz Kayondo, Paul Mucureezi, Karim Watambala, Ibrahim Orit, Bashir Asiku.

KCCA: Derrick Ochan(GK), Innocent Wafula, Denis Iguma, John Revita, Herbert Achai, Godfrey Wasswa,  Ashraf Mugume, Sadat Anaku, Davis Kasirye, Usama Arafat, Rogers Mato

Substitutions: Benjamin Ochan(GK), Yasser Mugerwa, Charles Lwanga, Joseph Kizza Bukenya, Hassan Jurua, Gift Ali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *