January 24, 2022

Airtel FUFA Awards: Who won what? the full winners’ list

By Brian Aheebwa
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Male player of the year Bobosi Byaruhanga (L) and Female player of the year Fauzia Najjemba

Attention ought to have been more on the Male Player Of The Year Award which was won by Vipers SC and Uganda Cranes youngster Bobosi Byaruhanga but there were a number of other winners at the 2021 Airtel FUFA Awards.

At a ceremony held at Speke Resort Hotel, Munyonyo on Saturday, December 4, over 12 categories were rewarded. Let’s dive through all the crowned individuals and teams.

Male Player of the Year – Bobosi Byaruhanga

Bobosi Byaruhanga shrugged off competition from his teammate Aziz Kayondo and Express forward Eric Kambale to win the Male Player of the Year 2021.

Female Player of the Year– Fauzia Najjemba

Uganda U20 Women National Team captain Fauzia Najjemba came out top of the three-man shortlist that also had Lady Doves WFC’s duo of goalkeeper Daisy Nakaziro and striker Fazila Ikwaputi.

Coach of the Year – Wasswa Bbosa

Having guided Express FC to a double last season that is the StarTimes Uganda Premier League and the CECAFA Kagame Club Championship, Wasswa Bbosa was deservedly named th coach of the year beating KCCA FC’s Morley Byekwaso and Mbarara City FC’s Hussein Mbalungu, who also had a brilliant year with the Uganda Hippos and Arua Hill SC respectively.

Women’s Football Coach of the Year – Fred Musiime

Fred Musiime who won the Women Super League with Lady Doves WFC and also took them until the semifinals of the CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers of the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League Qualifiers, finished this year’s Best Women Football Coach. Musiime beat She Maroon’s Sida Alex and Uganda U20 Women national team head coach Ayub Khalifa to the award.

Fans Favourite Ugandan Foreign-based Player – Fahad Bayo

Fahad Bayo who plies his trade in Israel for Ashdod FC scored Uganda Cranes’ all three goals managed in their failed 2022 World Cup qualification campaign and that must have caught the attention of the fans hence choosing him.

The former Vipers player won the award at the expense of former Ex-Cranes captain Dennis Onyango who plays for Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Joan Nabirye (Vihiga Queens, Kenya), and Taddeo Lwanga (Simba SC, Tanzania).

Beach Soccer Player of the Year – Emmanuel Alex Wasswa

Emmanuel Wasswa (L)

Uganda Sands Cranes and St. Lawrence Beach Soccer Club player Emmanuel Alex Wasswa was an important figure at the AFCON Beach Soccer finals in Senegal, a tournament where he scored five goals in four matches as Uganda reached the semifinals.

Because of such a performance, Wasswa was shortlisted among the best 100 Beach Soccer players in the World for the 2021 season and his beating of Buganda Royal Beach Soccer Club’s Ambrose Kigozi and MUBS Beach Soccer Club’s Isma Kawawulo to the Beach Soccer Player of the Year Award was never in doubt.

Futsal Player of the Year – Travis Mutyaba

This is a newly introduced category at the annual Airtel FUFA Awards which went to SC Villa’s youngster Travis Mutyaba who plays for Synergy FC in Futsal, he beat Big Talent’s Farouk Tumwesigye and Najib Nuwonge of Mengo FC to the award.

Member Associations’ Award – Uganda Youth Football Association

Uganda Youth Football Association (A special interest group) was the winner of the Member Associations’ Award beating Express FC (Club) and Kampala Region Football Association (Region Football Association) to the crown.

Other Awards

FUFA Fair Play Award 2021 – Police FC

FUFA Presidential Award 2021 – Mark Ssali

FUFA Best XI 2021 (Men): Mathias Muwanga (Express FC), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC), Abdul Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC), Murushid Juuko (Express FC), Enock Walusimbi (Express FC), Bobosi Byaruhanga(Vipers SC), Shafik Kagimu(URA FC), Ibrahim Orit(Vipers SC), Steven Mukwala (URA FC), Caesar Manzoki (Vipers SC), Eric Kenzo Kambale (Express FC)

FUFA Best XI 2021 (Women): Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves FC), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Sumaya Komuntale(Tooro Queens), Shadia Nankya(UCU Lady Cardinals), Aisha Nantongo(Kawempe Muslim Ladies), Joan Naggayi(She Maroons), Magret Kunihira(Kawempe Muslim), Riticia Nabbosa(Lady Doves), Fazila Ikwaput(Lady Doves), Hadijah Nandago(Kawempe Muslim, Fauzia Najjemba(Kampala Queens)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *