January 24, 2022

SUPL: Red Eagles secure second home victory against the Ankole Lions

By Guest Writer
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Eric Kambale (M) joined by teammates as he celebrates his goal against Mbarara City | Photo by Express FC

By: Calvin Kayemba

Express FC scored twice and conceded none in their 2-0 home victory against Mbarara City FC at the Betway Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku on Tuesday in the 2021/22 Startimes Uganda Premier League. 

Express had only won one home match, 1-0 against Wakiso giants since the start of this season.

Prolific Congolese forward Eric Kenzo Kambale broke the deadlock from a spot kick before Godfrey Lwesibawa netted the second goal for his side. 

In the 25th minute, the Ankole Lions defender Ronald Otti brought down Raymond Walugembe in the box and the centre referee did not hesitate to point at the spot for Kambale to slot home. 

In the 35th minute, Eric Kambale missed a  clear-cut chance as he added power on his shot but Mbarara City’s custodian Martin Elungat tipped the ball on top of the roof. 

In the second stanza, Express seemed a more hungry side but Kambale yet again missed a couple of chances and he couldn’t double the lead.  

In the 60th minute, the Red Eagles’ centre back Murushid Juuko brought down Henry Kitegenyi in the box and the visitors claimed for a penalty but the referee wagged his hands for play on.  

In the 68th minute, George Ssenkaaba assisted the ‘Speed Merchant’ Godfrey Lwesibawa who sealed their win.

Express FC are now sixth with 15 points on the 16 team log.  In their next outing, they visit URA FC on December 11, at the Arena of Visions, Ndejje University. 

Meanwhile, the Ankole Lions sit ninth on the 16 team log with ten points. In their next game, they host Onduparaka FC on the same day at Kakyeka Stadium. 

How they lined up

Express FC: Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Sadiq Ssekyembe, Isa Lumu, Enoch Walusimbi (C), Murushid Juuko, Nicholas Kasozi, Mahad Yaya, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Raymond Walugembe, Eric Kambale, Charles Musiige. 

Substitutions: Denis Otim (GK), Faisal Ssekyanzi, George Ssenkaaba, Joseph Akandwanaho, Dues Bukenya, John Byamukama 

Mbarara: Martin Elungat (GK), John Adriko, Ronald Otti, Hillary Mukundane (C), Karim Ramathan, Bebe Swalik, Ronald Edwok, Ivan Otude, Sadat Nsubuga, Jude Ssemugabi, Henry Kitegenyi

Substitutions: Muhammad Ssekeba (GK), Frank Kalule, Seri Arigumaho, Soulymane Bamba, Othieno Teko, Pistis Barenge, Thomas Kakaire.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *