AFCON 2021: StarTimes to air tournament in multiple local languages - Latest football news in Uganda
May 26, 2022

AFCON 2021: StarTimes to air tournament in multiple local languages

By Allan Damba
Mola, the official AFCON 2021 mascott | Courtesy photo

Ahead of the forthcoming January 9 Africa Cup of Nations slated for Cameroon, broadcasting guru StarTimes Uganda has confirmed the tournament will be aired in several local languages.

In a Monday Press release, the company asserted that through their various channels, football fanatics will enjoy the action in their preferred languages.

“StarTimes will broadcast all the 52 games live on its different international and local channels in six different local dialects,” partly read the statement.

“ST World Football and ST Sports Premium (English Commentary), Sanyuka TV (Luganda Commentary), Wan Luo TV (Luo Commentary), West Nile TV ( Lugbra Commentary), Bunyoro TV ( Runyoro Rutooro Commentary) and Magic Sport (Kinyarwanda Commentary) are the dedicated channels that will give Ugandans the best treat of AFCON.”

The release also confirmed the ways with which fans will be able to access Africa’s biggest football showpiece live.

“Everyone on StarTimes will enjoy AFCON at the most affordable subscription in Uganda.”

“Irrespective of the bouquet, all StarTimes subscribers will enjoy nations’ Cup, to watch all the 52 games, you will be required to subscribe 28,000/- month charge. Nova bouquet customers simply subscribe only 14,000/- will be guaranteed 31 live games.”

“The AFCON will also be available on smartphone anytime anywhere via the StarTimes ON APP. For only 16,000/- App subscription, StarTimes customers will enjoy all the games anytime anywhere.”

The coveted tournament is set to kick off on January 9 and will run for a month until February 6, 2022.


Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde

Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi

Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon

Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau

Group E: Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire

Group F: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia Morocco

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.