SUPL: Wakiso Giants edge BUL in a seven-goal thriller - Latest football news in Uganda
May 26, 2022

SUPL: Wakiso Giants edge BUL in a seven-goal thriller

By Guest Writer
Wakiso Giants' players celebrate a goal recently | Photo by Wakiso Giants

By Calvin Kayemba

Wakiso Giants FC edged BUL FC 4-3 in a game that saw three penalties in the Startimes Uganda Premier League at Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium.

Edward Satulo gifted BUL with a change for an opener as he fouled the latter’s player in the box and Ibrahim Kazindula converted the resultant penalty.

With halftime approaching, Wakiso orchestrated an interplay to find Moses Aliro who found the back of the net to restore parity for the hosts.

In the 41st minute, Ivan Bogere was brought down by custodian Saidi Keni in the forbidden area, the former stepped up and scored from the spot kick.

The visitors came back hungry in the second stanza piling pressure on the home team and were rewarded thanks to Ibrahim Nsimbe’s 64th minute equalizer.

With 15 minutes left on the clock, Alex Isabirye’s charges were given another penalty after Reagan Kalyowa was fouled inside the 18 yard box, which Kazindula scored.

With ten minutes to go, Moses Aliro completed his brace with an exquisite from range to draw Wakiso level.

With the adrenaline high for both sides, there came a more drama when the centre referee awarded Wakiso a penalty in the 85th minute which substitute Tom Masiko scored to grab all three points.

Wakiso Giants remain in the sixth position with 24 points one adrift of BUL who have dropped from third place to fourth with 25 points on the 16 team UPL log.

In their next outing, Wakiso will travel to Jinja to face Gaddafi on Friday, January 7 whilst BUL will visit St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende to play Vipers on January 8.

How both teams lined up

Wakiso Giants: Derrick Emukule (GK), Grant Masiko, Edward Saturo, Simon Namwanja, Fahad Kawooya, Lawrence Bukenya, Ibrahim Kasule, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Titus Ssematimba, Moses Aliro, Ivan Bogere

Substitutions: Samson Kirya (GK), Alex Komakech, Frank Ssebuufu, Tom Masiko, Frank Ssenyondo, Joshua Lubwama, Alex Kimbowa

BUL: Saidi Keni (GK), Douglas Muganga, Richard Ayiko, Walter Ochora, Hillary Onek, Ibrahim Kazindula, George Kasonko, Ibrahim Mugulusi, Reagan Kalyowa, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Musa Esenu

Substitutions: Emma Kalyowa (GK), Umar Mukobe, Simon Peter Oketch, Martin Aprem, Richard Wandyaka, Dickson Niwamanya, Pascal Ngobi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.