SUPL: Busoga end five-game losing streak with victory over Onduparaka - Latest football news in Uganda
May 26, 2022

SUPL: Busoga end five-game losing streak with victory over Onduparaka

By Guest Writer
Busoga United players celebrate one of their two league goals against Gadaffi FC at the Gadaffi Arena / UPL Image

By Herman Peter Mweguye

Busoga United who were on a five-game losing streak claimed a 2-0 win against Onduparaka FC in Uganda Premier League at the FUFA Technical Center Njeru on Wednesday.

The Kingsmen took an early lead courtesy of Shaka Ssozi’s 18th minute strike which was enough to mute the first half.

Edrine Opaala Mukisa sealed the three points for the Jinja based side in the 76th minute off Shaka’s assist.

Despite losing on the day, the caterpillars were the most dominant side and they had two goals from Gabriel Matata and Mansoor Safi disallowed for fouls in the build up.

Emmanuel Okech nearly scored from a corner kick but his effort hit the post in the 70th minute and as the Caterpillars kept the pressure on the hosts, the latter were reduced to 10 men with Sande Mulanda sent off in the 82nd minute.

Following Wednesday’s result, Onduparaka remained on 12 points in 13th place on the 16 team UPL log while Busoga and Bright Stars are now level on 10 points but separated by virtue of goal difference in 15th and 14th place respectively.

Abbey Kikomeko’s eyes are set on Mbarara City in pursuit of relegation survival and George Lutalo will be in charge of a relegation six pointer against Tooro United in Fort Portal this weekend.

Team Line Ups

Busoga United XI: Delton Oyo (G.K), Hassan Kintu, George Kalyowa, Fredrick Ngalo, Derrick Basoga, Sande Mulanda, Paul Ssekulima, Anthony Mayanja (Captain), Mustafa Anwaru Ntege, Edrine Opaala Mukisa, Shaka Ssozi

Subs: Andrew Ssekandi (G.K), Hussein Ssajjabi, Laban Tibita. Douglas Bithum, Elvis Kibbale, Isaac Wagoina, Ronald Kasamba

Onduparaka XI: Mathias Muwanga (G.K), Alex Adriko, Ahamed Amayo, Isaac Okello, Ramadhan Dudu, Ivan Okello, Mujahid Baden, Rashid Yakin, Shaban Muhammed (Captain), Gabriel Matata, Emmanuel Okech

Subs: Michael Kagiri (G.K), John Rogers, Hamza Geriga, Abasi Kateregga, Mansoor Safi, James Jarieko, Nathan Oloro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.