January 24, 2022

AFCON 2021: Mane, Keita share spoils in dull stalemate

By Allan Damba
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Calm down: Sadio Mane seems to tell his teammates against Guinea | CAF Image

Sadio Mane’s Senegal was held to a barren draw by his Liverpool teammate, Naby Keita’s Guinea in their second game of the Cameroon Africa Cup of Nations at the Bafoussam Omnisport Stadium, Kouekong.

Following the stalemate, both nations remain joint toppers having won their opening games. Senegal beat Malawi 1-0 whereas Guinea beat Zimbabwe by a similar scoreline.

It was a game short of attacking quality and flair with the Lions of Teranga mastering just two shots on target whereas Guinea managed one for the entire 90.

The first 45 minutes produced an absolutely dull show with very limited goalscoring opportunities from either team.

However, the best chance of the half came Guinea’s way with Ilaix Moriba feeding Morgan Guilavogui whose shot from close range went straight into Seny Dieng’s hands.

In the 56th minute, it was incredible goalkeeping by Guinea custodian Aly Keita to deny an Abdou Diallo header that looked destined for the roof of the net.

Senegal kept pushing for the all important goal and nearly found it through Bouna Sarr whose effort off a good Mane ball missed the target by a few inches.

With both sides seemingly contented with a point, the remaining moments of the game were even more lux as they both preferred seeing out the 90 minutes.

Senegal will hope to confirm qualification to the knockout stages in their last group match against Malawi on January 18 at the Bafoussam Omnisport Stadium, Kouekong.

Meanwhile, Guinea will look at the same when they take on Zimbabwe on the same day at the Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium, Yaounde.

How they lined up

Senegal: Seny Dieng (GK), Saliou Ciss, Pape Cisse, Cheikou Kouyate, Boulaye Dia, Sadio Mane, Bouna Sarr, Ibrahim Mbaye, Abdou Diallo, Mamadou Ndiaye, Mame Thiam.

Substitutions: Nampalys Mendy, Keita Balde, Mouhamadou Diallo, Joseph Lopy, Pape Sarr, Famara Diedhiou, Amigo Alfred Gomis, Aliouane Faty, Moustapha Name.

Guinea: Aly Keita (GK), Issiaga Sylla, Ibrahim Conte, Saidou Sow, Amadou Diawara, Ibrahim Cisse, Naby Keita, Morgan Guilavogui, Mohamed Bayo, Mohamed Camara, Moriba Kourouma

Substitutions: Morlaye Sylla, Ibrahima Conte, Dyrestam Mikael Bertil, Ousmane Kante, Seydouba Soumah, Mamadou Kane, Sory Kaba, Ibrahim Kone, Mory Konate, Mamadou Diallo, Fode Camara, Gaoussou Youssouf Sibe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *