July 5, 2022

South Africa: Onyango’s Sundowns clinch fifth successive PSL title

By Allan Damba
Denis Onyango (green kit) celebrates with teammates after they were crowned champions of the 2022 MTN8 competition / Sundowns Image

Former Uganda Cranes skipper Dennis Onyango’s Mamelodi Sundowns won a record fifth successive Premier Soccer League title, their 12th.

This followed the goalless draw with Cape Town City on Wednesday evening at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria.

The Brazilians have dominated the league this season, having only lost twice in 26 games to sit on top of the log with 58 points, 13 points ahead of second-placed Royal AM with four games to go.

Masandawana made two changes to the side that drew 1-1 with Petro de Luanda in the CAF Champions League, as Grant Kekana and Aubrey Modiba were recalled.

The game got off to a lively start as Neo Maema was denied an early goal for the hosts from a thunderous shot that was punched away by Cape Town goalkeeper Hugo Marques.

However, Marques was fortunate not to concede in the first quarter of an hour after Rushine De Reuck guided a header over the crossbar.

Eric Tinkler’s charges were more organized after that and gained confidence as they threatened counter-attacks towards the end of the first stanza, but they were unable to trouble Sundown’s shot-stopper, Onyango.

The Brazilians had a brighter start in the second stanza as Maema came close to breaking the deadlock, with a strike from the edge of the box that was smothered by Marques.

The home side continued to press forward for the winner but they could not manage clear-cut goal scoring opportunities.

Despite the home dominance, the guests held on to a share of spoils, but, the point was enough to hand Sundowns a fifth straight league title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.