AFCON 2021: Musa unafraid of Salah as Nigeria arrive in Cameroon - Latest football news in Uganda
May 26, 2022

AFCON 2021: Musa unafraid of Salah as Nigeria arrive in Cameroon

By Brian Aheebwa
Nigeria captian Ahmed Musa in action | Photo by Ulrik Pedersen/NurPhoto via Getty Images

Nigeria, who arrived in Cameroon on Wednesday night will begin their tournament against Liverpool star Mohamed Salah’s Egypt on Tuesday, January 11, in Group D.

There is no doubt that the English Premier League top scorer is one of the best players that will be gracing the tournament, but the Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa believes they have players that match him.

“Everyone is talking about Salah, but if you look at our team, we have lots of players they will be worried about,” Musa said at a send-off dinner held at Transcorp Hilton Hotel in Lagos on Tuesday.

“So, we do not have to think about Salah. They have to think about our own players.”

“They talk about Salah, but we have players like Samuel Chukwueze and others on the wings who are very dangerous – so that is football,” he added.

Nigeria touched base at Garoua International Airport without Al Shabab’s Odion Ighalo, Venezia’s Tyronne Ebuehi and Paderborn’s Jamiliu Collins who will join the 25-man squad later.

Austin Eguavoen’s side will be hosted by Cameroonian champions Coton Sport in a build-up match at Roumde Adjia Stadium on Friday, behind closed doors.

The West African side who finished third in Egypt in 2019 will be in search of their fourth AFCON having won it in 2013, 1994 and 1980.

The official kick-off of the greatest football showpiece on the African continent is on Sunday, January 10, with host Cameroon facing Burkina Faso in Group A.

 Nigeria AFCON Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.