AFCON: This is the hardest moment of my career – Micho

By Allan Damba
Cranes coach Milutin 'Micho' Sredojevic during the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations | Courtesy photo

In the aftermath of Uganda Cranes’ one-all stalemate with Niger in the 2023 AFCON qualifiers, the former’s head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic conceded this was the lowest moment of his career.

The disappointing draw followed Saturday’s 2-0 defeat to Algeria in the qualification opener. This particular one had Micho assure that the Niger game was a must-win and the ultimate opener to the Cranes qualification campaign.

At St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Wednesday, the Cranes scored first through Milton Karisa but the guests equalized through Amadou Sabo.

“After what happened in the two matches, as the coach I have to say, this is the hardest moment I have been in, in the game of football,” the disappointed Serbian said to the press.

This was after the 52-year-old had claimed the hosts deserved the win on a tense evening in Kitende.

“In terms of the performance, we deserved to win as we created enough chances, especially in the first half.”

“We prepared for all the details but a lapse in concentration in one moment cost us the match,” Micho passionately said.

He went on to express optimism that his charges still have everything in them to qualify out of Group F.

“In the mini-league with us, Niger and Tanzania, we believe that we have everything it takes to take the second place and qualify.”

In the other group game, Algeria beat Tanzania 2-0 at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium on Wednesday to keep the grip strength at the helm with six points.

Meanwhile, Uganda occupies rock-bottom with one point. Niger and Tanzania lie second and third with two and three points respectively. Action resumes in September.

Uganda: Charles Lukwago (GK), Garvin Kizito Mugweri, Halid Lwaliwa, Bevis Mugabi, Aziz Kayondo, Khalid Aucho, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Milton Karisa, Farouk Miya, Emmanuel Okwi, Fahad Bayo

Substitutions: Alionzi Nathian, Elvis Bwomono, Isaac Muleme, James Begisa, Marvin Youngman, Allan Okello, Allan Kyambadde, Muhammad Shaban, Derrick Kakooza, Steven Sserwadda, Hakim Kiwanuka, Martin Kizza, Muzamir Mutyaba

Niger: Kassaly Dauda (GK), Rahim Bonkano, Victorien Adebayor, Abdoul Garba, Ousmane Diabatte, Karim Dakada, Amadou Sabo, Youssef Oumarou, Boubacar Moumouni, Amadou Wonkoye, Daniel Sosah

Substitutions: Hassane Adamou, Kairu Amoustafa, Ibrahim Boubacar, Razak Seyni, Issa Djibrilla, Mahamane Cisse, Kassali Djibo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.