July 5, 2022

England based players not guaranteed spots – Micho

By Brian Aheebwa
Tirhys Luknyomoi on his first training with the Uganda Cranes | FUFA Image

Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojević has warned Uganda Cranes England based players, who have recently been summoned in team that they are not guaranteed spots.

Forwards Ibrah Sekajja, Nathan Odokonyero, and Tirhys Luknyomoi who feature for Dulwich Harmlet FC, Bognor Regis FC, and AFC Port Chester FC respectively, were added to goalkeeper Giouse Bellagambi of Huddersfield Town.

“These players have been doing well in their clubs in England but I know they are not on a much higher level of competition compared to our locally based players,” Micho told the media.

“We shall use this period to make a comparison if they are better then they will be in the traveling squad but that is not a guarantee.”

“We are happy that they have the desire to come and play for Uganda, however, that is not enough. We shall evaluate their qualities further more,” he added.

The Uganda Cranes will start their 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier away to Algeria on June 4 and four days later they will host Niger on June 8.

Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (St.George-Ethiopia), Giouse Bellagambi (Huddersfield Town, England), Alionzi Nafian (URA FC Uganda)

Defenders: Elvis Bwomono (IBV Iceland), Gavin Kizito (Sc Villa Uganda), James Begisa (UPDF FC, Uganda), Isaac Muleme (Viktoria Zizkov Czech Rep), Abdu Azizi Kayondo (Real Monarchs USA), Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland), Timothy Awanyi (Ashdod Israel), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC Uganda), Musa Ramadan (Cincinnati USA), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC Uganda) Enoch Walusimbi, (Express FC Uganda)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Yanga Tanzania), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC Uganda), Marvin Joseph Youngman (Bright Stars FC Uganda), Steven Sserwadda (New York Red Bulls USA), Muzamil Mutyaba (Kiyovu Sports Rwanda), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Lviv Ukraine), Allan Okello (Paradou, Algeria)

Forwards: Milton Karisa (Vipers SC Uganda), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants FC Uganda), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC Uganda), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC Uganda), Allan Kyambadde (Gouna Egypt), Martin Kizza (Express FC Uganda), Emmanuel Okwi (Kiyovu Sports Rwanda), Fahad Bayo (Bnei Sakhin Israel), Derrick Kakooza (Valmiera Latvia), Sadat Anaku (KCCA FC Uganda), Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka FC Uganda), Ibrah Sekajja (Dulwich Harmlet FC), Nathan Odokonyero (Bognor Regis FC), Tirhys Luknyomoi (AFC Port Chester FC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.