First half nasty scenes overshadow Vipers’ thumping of MYDA

By Allan Damba

Extremely ugly scenes in the first-half dominated Vipers SC’s 4-0 trouncing of wounded Myda FC on Wednesday at the King George IV stadium in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

The fracas broke out after the furious home fans expressed dissatisfaction with how Vipers were awarded a 20th-minute penalty which was converted by Yunus Ssentamu.

The fans denied referee Ali Kaddu, and his assistants Hakim Mulindwa, Ronald Katenya and fourth official George Olemu access to their dressing room which prompted immediate police intervention.

Even after the officials gained access, the situation remained tense which forced further police deployment on the ground to calm the situation before the second-half resumed later on.

Midfielder Abdulkarim Watambala had wrapped up the opening 45 minutes inside the area from Ibrahim Orit’s layoff capping a dominant first-half.

The second started in familiar style, and it took the visitors as much as two minutes to stretch the lead, David Bagoole finishing Ssentamu’s cutback.

Ssentamu would then make it a brace for himself, burying Paul Willa’s superb delivery in the 65th minute. This extended his league tally to 12 goals as he now tops the league scoring charts.

With nine games to go, the Venoms are back to within a point of leaders URA SC with 46 points. MYDA on the other hand continues to dwell inside the bottom three as their survival chances continue to falter.

The League takes a two weeks break with Fred Kajoba’s boys making a second successive trip. They will be visitors at Lugogo to take on bitter rivals KCCA FC on Sunday, May 9.

MYDA will once again play hosts, this time to fellow strugglers Kyetume FC on Friday, May 7 as they look to draw some rays of hope for survival.

How they lined up

MYDA FC XI: Andrew Ssekandi(GK), Paul Musamali, Basoga Derrick, Moses Batali, Amos Etoju(C), Rashid Mpata, Amos Kirya, Eric Mutebi, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Stephen Okello, Dickson Outta

Subs: Mark Bassi, Isaac Osikol, Mande Martin, Faisal Muledhu, Peter Mutebi

Vipers SC XI: Bashir Ssekagya (GK), Paul Willa, Halid Lwalilwa(C), Aziz Kayondo, Livingstone Mulondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Lawrence Tezikya, David Bagoole, Ibrahim Orit, Abdulkarim Watambala, Yunus Ssentamu

Subs: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Rashid Toha, Paul Mucureezi, Jamil Kalisa, Milton Karisa, Ceasor Manzoki, Allan Kayiwa

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button