Five local-based players make 10-man shortlist for 256 Footballer of the Year Award

Only 10 players remain in the running for the 2020 256 Footballer of the year Award, which is given out by online football website Football256.

The award recognises the achievements of the best Ugandan players both in Uganda and abroad for the period December to November of consecutive years.

The 10 remaining candidates include five players based in the Uganda Premier League, with the five others based abroad.

Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) FC, KCCA FC and Ashdod FC all have two representatives.

URA FC are represented by captain Shafiq ‘Kuchi’ Kagimu and Saidi Kyeyune on the final 10 list.

KCCA defender Mustafa Kizza who recently completed a move to Major League Soccer side Montreal Impact but stays on loan at KCCA also makes the list together with teammate Gift Ali.

Meanwhile, 2019 Uganda Premier League top scorer Steven Mukwala who is currently without a club after leaving Vipers completes the local-based players on the list.

Mukwala bagged 13-goals while on loan for Maroons FC last season and was part of the Uganda Cranes squad that won the 2019 CECAFA Championships in Kampala.

Right-back Nicolas Wadada who scooped the 2019/2020 season’s defender of the year award in Tanzania still has a shout for the award.

Israel Premier League based trio Timothy Awany, Fahad Bayo who feature for FC Ashdod and Kizito Luwagga who plays for Hapoel Kfar Saba are also included.

Awany was among the final five nominees in the award’s inaugural edition, eventually finishing fifth with 1972 votes.

Finally, forward Farouk Miya who was in blistering form as Konyaspor survived relegation from the Turkish Premier League continues his search for the crown which is currently held by Allan Okello.

Miya topped Konyaspor’s scoring charts last term with eight goals.

The list will be reduced further to five candidates by the end of September, before public voting is opened via a voting portal on the website on Thursday, October 1.

The voting process will run for up to six weeks with each IP address entitled to one vote every day and will be live on our online portal until Wednesday, November 17, at exactly 11:59 PM (local time).

Allan Okello became the inaugural winner of this award on November 18, 2019, when he beat a field that included Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango, Juma Balinya, Timothy Awany and Patrick Kaddu.

2020 256 Footballer of the Year Award 10-man shortlist

Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC)
Timothy Awany (FC Ashdod)
Fahad Bayo (FC Ashdod)
Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba)
Mustafa Kizza (KCCA/ Montreal Impact)
Steven Mukwala (Unattached)
Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC)
Gift Ali (KCCA FC)
Nicolas Wadada (Azam FC)
Farouk Miya (Konyaspor FC)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button