December 9, 2021

FUFA AGM: Approving Magogo for a third term tops the agenda

By Baron Kironde
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
FUFA President Moses Magogo | Courtesy photo

The 97th FUFA General Assembly will take place this Saturday, August 21, 2021, at Wash and Wills Hotel in Mbale City, starting 9 AM.

“Notice is hereby given to all FUFA Members, Delegates and stakeholders that the 97th FUFA Ordinary General Assembly shall be held on Saturday, August 21, 2021, at Wash And Wills Hotel in Mbale City- Eastern Region, the FUFA CEO Edgar Watson confirmed.

The notice also highlights that the agenda of the Assembly as a priority includes the election of the FUFA President and the Executive Committee Members for the next term of four years.

Incumbent, Moses Magogo is set to be re-elected unopposed for another term in office, as two other initially interested candidates, Allan Ssewanyana and Mujib Kasule picked nomination forms but did not return them as they failed to meet some of the basic requirements.

About the Ordinary FUFA General Assembly

The Ordinary FUFA General Assembly is the supreme and legislative body of football in Uganda and is comprised of 34 members (Associations) that are represented by 88 delegates.

The Assembly takes place annually where delegates convene and review activities carried out in the previous twelve months plus planning for the future.

According to Article 21 (2) of the FUFA Statutes and Regulations, the FUFA President conducts business at the General Assembly in compliance with the standing orders.

Some of the key areas of address in the FUFA Ordinary General Assembly include activity reports, financial statements, approval of budgets, admission of new Members and dismissing of members among others.

Prior to the Ordinary FUFA General Assembly, all Member Associations convene independent annual Assembles in accordance with the FUFA Statutes.

This allows resolutions and reports from Members Associations to be agreed on before they are presented in the FUFA General Assembly for discussion.

The Assembly is hosted on a rotational basis with each of the eight regions of FUFA given an opportunity but decided by the FUFA Executive Committee.

Regions that have hosted the FUFA Ordinary General Assemblies since 2013

2013 – Jinja (Eastern)
2014 – Lira (Northern Region)
2015 – Soroti (North East)
2016- Luweero (Buganda)
2017- Masindi (Kitara)
2018- Kabale (Western)
2019- Adjumani (West Nile)
2020 – Nakawa DFA-(Kampala Region FA)
2021- Mbale DFA (Eastern Region FA)

The Ordinary Members of FUFA are:

The 16 FUFA Super League clubs
The FUFA Big League
The FUFA Women National Leagues
The 8 Regional Associations
The Uganda Football Players Association
The Uganda Women Football Association
The Uganda Football Coaches Association
The Uganda Football Referees Association
The Uganda Beach-Soccer Association
The Uganda Schools Football Association 
The Uganda Youth Football Association 
The Futsal Association of Uganda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *