Jane ski, Mkhalele to sit in for absent Broos against Uganda Cranes

Cedomir Janevski and Helman Mkhalele, South Africa’s first and second assistant coaches will take charge of the international friendly between South Africa and Uganda.

This comes after Bafana Bafana newly appointed head coach in Belgian Hugo Broos will be unavailable for the game at the Orlando Stadium on Thursday.

The former Cameroon Indomitable Lions tactician is in Belgium where he is administering COVID-19 vaccinations.

“We are in constant contact with Broos,” first assistant Janevski was quoted by Sowetan Live before adding.

“Even half an hour ago we spoke on phone and a few weeks ago he made a more list of players in addition to the initially summoned 19 players in case of injuries or Covid.”

The 69-year old Broos was named the 19th Bafana Bafana head coach on a five-year contract in May, replacing Molefi Ntseki, who was sacked in March after a failed AFCON qualification campaign.

His reign will commence in his absence against Uganda, yet another nation that also failed to qualify for the forthcoming Africa Cup of Nations.

In addition to Broos’ absence, South Africa will also be without Brighton and Hove midfielder Percy Tau, Supersport United duo in Teboho Mokoena and Sipho Mbule who returned positive Covid-19 results.

Mamelodi Sundowns’ Mosa Lebusa, Rivaldo Coetzee and Mothobi Mvala are also out due to injuries.

Premier Soccer League defender of the season Njabulo Ngcobo of Swallows FC‚ Baroka FC duo Denwin Farmer and Evidence Makgopa and TS Galaxy’s Ethan Brooks were named as the replacements to the above unavailable players.

Uganda and South Africa have met thrice before and will be facing off for the first time since 2019 when they drew one-all in the COSAFACup. The other two times were in the 2006 World Cup qualifiers, and it is South Africa who won both legs.

Uganda Cranes 23-man squad

Goalkeepers: Ismail Watenga, Charles Lukwago, Mathias Kigonya

Defenders: Hassan Muhamood, Paul Willa, Patrick Paul Mbowa, Halid Lwalilwa, Aziz Kayondo, Enock Walusimbi, Mustafa Kizza, Murushid Juuko 

Midfielders: Bobosi Byaruhanga, Shafik Kagimu, Moses Waiswa, Taddeo Lwanga, Allan Okello, Abdu Lumala, Ibrahim Orit, Steven Sserwadda, Isma Mugulusi

Strikers: Emmanuel Okwi(Captain), Derrick Kakooza, Steven Mukwaala

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker