Mwendwa re-elected as FKF president

Incumbent Football Kenya Federation (FKF) president Nick Mwendwa has been re-elected as the new FKF president for another four-year term.

Mwendwa registered a landslide victory of the elections held during a Special General Meeting held at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi on Saturday.

Mwendwa received 77 votes out of the 85 delegates who attended the meeting. Former Gor Mahia Chief Executive Officer Lordvick Aduda came second with five votes.

Former FKF Deputy CEO Herbert Mwachiro had only three votes while journalist Boniface Osano and David Mule did not receive any votes.

FKF elections had been twice blocked by the Sports Disputes Tribunal as disputes over the integrity of FKF’s electoral body fronted by former president Sam Nyamweya and seven others arose.

But on Friday this week, Sports Disputes Tribunal finally gave the all clear for the elections to proceed after the tribunal’s boss threw out Nyamweya’s petition.

Elsewhere, former referee Margaret Anyango beat Kerubo Momanyi by a single vote with Anyango getting 43 while Kerubo picked up 42 votes in the closely contested Women Representative post.

Micheal Ouma was re-elected as the Nairobi region National Executive Member (NEC) after getting 59 votes to beat his opponent Tom Alila who got 59 votes.

Bernard Korir beat Nyongesa Masinde with 64 votes to take the Upper Rift post. Ahmed Muhamed Dabar won the North East representative elections ahead of Mohamed Abdi Farah.

Joesph Andere retained his post as Nyanza NEC member after a commanding victory over Western Stima FC chairman Laban Jobita.

Timothy Muriithi Nabea (Eastern), Gabriel Mghendi (Coast), David Bunei (Lower Rift), Davis Chege (Central) and Enos Kweya (Western) were unopposed for their respective seats.

Tana River, Lamu and Samburu counties were however not represented in the polls as they did not meet the requisite requirements to conduct branch elections.

The Kenya Footballers Welfare Association (KEFWA), Kenya Football Referees Association (KEFORA) and the Kenya Football Coaches Association (KEFOC) were also not represented because of the same reasons.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button