Onyango, Cranes shortlisted for CAF Awards

By Clive Kyazze

Uganda Cranes skipper Denis Onyango has been shortlisted on a 34 man list for the 2018 CAF awards slated for Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal

Onyango has always found his name ion the shortlist since 2016, the same year he won the award for the African player based in Africa, and he happens to be the last recipient of the awards.

Onyango has inspired Uganda to seventh Africa Cup of Nations appearance as skipper and he is yet to concede a goal in five outings.

Uganda has managed four wins and a draw scoring seven goals in total as they sealed a second straight AFCON Appearance

Uganda Cranes are also shortlisted in the men’s team of the year award alongside Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritania and Zimbabwe.

Uganda finds its name on the list for largely qualifying for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations as being the only team to seal qualification without conceding a goal with one match day left.

The winners for the African Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year will be decided by the following; CAF Technical & Development Committee, media experts, legends, coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, coaches and captains of the national teams of the 54 Member Associations.

Other categories namely Youth Player of the Year, Men’s Coach of the Year, Women’s Coach of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year and Women’s National Team of the Year will be elected by; CAF Technical & Development Committee, media experts, legends, coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup


The different shortlists

  1. Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)
  2. Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)
  3. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr)
  4. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  5. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
  6. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  7. Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)
  8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  9. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  10. Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)
  11. Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
  12. Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
  13. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
  14. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)
  15. Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  16. Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)
  17. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
  18. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
  19. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  20. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  21. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
  22. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
  23. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)
  24. Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)
  25. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  26. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  27. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  28. Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
  29. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
  30. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)
  31. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
  32. Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
  33. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
  34. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)


 Women’s African player of the year

  1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  5. Desire Oparanozia (Nigeria & Guingamp)
  6. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  7. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  8. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
  9. Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon & Avaldenes)
  10. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  11. Marlyse Ngo Ndoumbouk (Cameroon & Nancy-Lorraine)
  12. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  13. Portia Boakye (Ghana & Djurgardens)
  14. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
  15. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth player of the year

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)
  2. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
  3. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Aax)
  4. Ismaila Sarr (Senegal & Rennes)
  5. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
  6. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)

Men’s coach of the year

  1. Corentin Martins (Mauritania)
  2. Florent Ibenge (AS Vita & DR Congo)
  3. Juan Carlos Garrido (Raja Club Athletic)
  4. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)
  5. Nicolas Dupuis (Madagascar)
  6. Patrice Carteron (Al Ahly)
  7. Rachid Taoussi (ES Sétif)
  8. Herve Renard (Morocco)
  9. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  10. Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Women’s coach of the year

  1. Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
  2. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  3. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
  4. Saloum Houssein (Mali)
  5. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s national team of the year

  1. Guinea Bissau
  2. Kenya
  3. Madagascar
  4. Mauritania
  5. Uganda
  6. Zimbabwe

Women’s national team of the year

  1. Cameroon
  2. Ghana
  3. Mali
  4. Nigeria
  5. South Africa

Additional reporting sourced from http://www.cafonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.