SAFA to bid for first CAF Women’s Champions League

By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde – Nigeria

South Africa Football Association (SAFA) are set to bid for the inaugural edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League.

The new development was confirmed in a statement released by SAFA Media and Communications Department on Friday.

The Confederation of African Football, CAF on Thursday, issued a statement confirming the start of the First Edition of the CAF Club Women’s Champions League tournament in 2021.

Speaking after the marathon meeting, SAFA President and CAF Vice-President, Dr. Danny Jordan welcomed the announcement as Africa takes a giant step towards growing the women’s football to new heights.

The first edition will comprise of 8 teams, with seven teams qualifiying from their respective zonal qualifiers with the hosts providing the other participant.

Accordingly, SAFA has expressed its interest in hosting the first CAF Women Champions League tournament and will submit the bid after its Executive Committee meeting on Saturday, September 12.

The CAF Women’s Champions League tournament will provide further incentives for the domestic SAFA Women’s Premier Football League (SWPFL) participants.

The SWPFL was launched last year and Mamelodi Sundowns Women’s team won the inaugural edition. The second edition is expected to kick off early next year.

South Africa hosted the first and only FIFA World Cup to take place in Africa in 2010 and have hosted the African Women’s Cup of Nations, AWCON three times in 2000, 2004, and 2010 with Super Falcons of Nigeria winning all editions hosted by South Africa.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button