Simba SC clinch third consecutive Tanzanian League crown

Simba Sports Club has won their third consecutive Tanzanian Premier League crown despite being held to a goalless draw against Tanzania Prisons FC.

Simba has continued their stronghold on the title they have won in each of the last three seasons since 2017, matching Yanga’s three consecutive titles they won between 2015 and 2017.

Heading into the game at the Sokoine Stadium in Mbeya, Simba needed a single point to seal the 2019/2020 league crown, after Azam who started the weekend second were held to a 1-all draw by Biashara United.

Simba seat comfortably on top of the league table with 79 points from 32 games, 19 points ahead of second placed Yanga SC and 20 points ahead of Nicolas Wadadda’s Azam FC who are currently third.

The “Wekundu wa Msimbazi” have now won their 21st league crown since winning the inaugural Tanzanian League title in 1965, closing the gap on record league winners Yanga SC who sit on 22 titles.

Under Belgian Sven Vandenbrook who arrived in December, Simba has won 25 games, drawn just four and lost three games.

Simba maintain their CAF Champions League slot, and are expected to perform better than their 2019 performance where they were knocked out from the preliminary stage by Mozambique’s UD Songo.

It is the second time Simba has been crowned champions in three straight campaigns, achieving a similar feat between 1993 and 1995.

Vandenbrook’s men will now look to beat the record of five consecutive league titles they won between 1976 and 1980 or matching the four consecutive title haul between 2001 to 2004.

According to the TPLB chairman Steven Mnguto, the champions will be crowned in a trophy ceremony in their final group game

Simba now turns focus to the Tanzanian Cup where they take on Azam in the quarter-finals.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button