The 256 Footballer of the Year Award returns

On November 18, 2019, Football256 – the leading online football website in Uganda – marked its first anniversary since the first blog post was published on the online portal.

The occasion for our first post was Uganda Cranes’ qualification for the 2019 African Cup of Nations. A new milestone was written in Uganda’s football history while we launched a dynamic and unique style on how the game is covered.

To celebrate our annual anniversary, we decided to commemorate it with an annual celebration of Ugandan talent and outstanding achievement (like the occasion for our launch), hence the birth of the ‘256 Footballer of the Year Award’.

The 256 FOTY Award is, therefore, an annual celebration of the top performers and highest achievers over a period of one year.

The award authentically recognises the best performing Ugandan football players both on the local scene and in the diaspora for the period starting December – November every year.

“It has been quite a journey for us, from when we had the idea of having an award to reward our top performers and the challenges that we faced therein.”

“For us as a team at Football256, we want to put a lasting mark on the milestones that define a player’s career, but sadly in Uganda, there is not so much to reward the individuals for their success,” Football256 Chief Editor Shafic Kiyaga noted.

“On a daily, we proudly cover the different achievements of our stars as we bring you the stories beneath. Therefore, it is fitting for us to present such a token for a job well done.”

“It is a joy to announce the second edition of the 256 FOTY Award, we want to build on the success that we had last year as we continue improving and growing because this award is here to stay,” Kiyaga added.

The winner of the 256 FOTY award for the year 2020 will be announced on November 18, 2020.

The nomination process for the award is already underway, with initial nominations carried out by a selected team of the leading 20 football journalists in Uganda.

This team which has been carefully selected will help the Awards committee draw up nominees with the initial phase consisting of 20 players who will be later reduced to ten and finally five.

An initial nomination list of 20 football players will be released in the first week of September before the top 10 nominees list is drawn a fortnight later.

On Thursday, October 1, 2020, the final five nominees will be revealed and voting for the 256 FOTY Award winner by the readers on the site will be opened for the public to choose their most outstanding performer.

The voting process will run for up to six weeks with each IP address entitled to one vote every day and will be live on our online portal until Wednesday, November 17, 2359hrs.

Allan Okello became the inaugural winner of this award on November 18, 2019, when he beat a field that included Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango, 2019 Uganda Premier League top scorer Juma Balinya, Timothy Awany and Patrick Kaddu.

A total of 98162 votes were cast with Okello who currently plays at Algerian side Paradou AC leading the race with 45826 votes, while Juma Balinya followed in second with 36894 votes.

Patrick Kaddu was third with 9850, Denis Onyango and Timothy Awany collected 3620 and 1972 respectively.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button