July 5, 2022

Vipers end Bright Stars ten-game unbeaten run

By Football256 Team
Vipers SC players join Bobosi Byaruhanga (M) in celebrating his goal against Bright Stars in the UPL last season| Vipers SC photo

By Allan Damba

Soltilo Bright Stars suffered their first loss in 11 matches following a 1-0 defeat to Vipers at the Kavumba Recreational Center on Friday in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

Bright Stars who last suffered defeat in March against SC Villa, put up an incredible unbeaten run that saw them pick up impressive victories over Express and KCCA FC, while they held URA FC in the process.

The Venoms needed to win to boost their hunt for the league title this season after falling to Mbarara City FC on Tuesday, and midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga found the decisive moment. 

Bobosi lobbed over goalkeeper Simon Tamale in the first-half added time. The goal came moments after Yunus Sentamu had missed from the penalty spot. 

Ssentamu who leads the scorer’s charts in the league put his effort wide after defender Aziz Kayondo had been brought down inside the box.

The win was a continuation of their recent away form. They have now emerged victorious on six successive occasions away from home.

Fred Kajoba’s boys are now back to second on 56 points with only four fixtures remaining to end the campaign.

They are two points adrift of Express who beat Kitara 4-0 on Friday to maintain the top spot.

Next for Kajoba is a Stanbic Uganda Cup quarterfinal at home against rivals SC Villa as they continue their quest for a domestic double.

Bright Stars who are out of the Uganda Cup return to action on June 15, when they will visit Lugogo to play six placed Police FC.

How they lined up

Bright Stars FC XI: Warren Buule, Simon Tamale(GK), Joseph Akandanwaho, Joseph Janjali, Methodious Jungu, Derrick Kiggundu, Andy Kyambadde, Joseph Marvin, Derrick Ngoobi, Simon Ssemayenge, Samuel Ssekamatte

Subs: Augustine Kacancu, Shamulan Kamya(GK), Ibrahim Kasinde, Emmanuel Loki, Samson Mutyaba, Jamil Nvule

Vipers SC XI: Bashir Ssekagya (GK), Paul Willa, Halid Lwalilwa(C), Aziz Kayondo, Siraje Ssentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Karim Watambala, Ibrahim Orit, Yunus Sentamu, Ceasor Manzoki

Subs: Fabien Mutombora(GK), Disan Ggaliwango, Lawrence Tezikya, Jamil Kalisa, Allan Kayiwa, Richard Bansangwa, Paul Mucureezi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.