Wadada reacts to player of the year award nomination

After enjoying a fine season with Tanzanian side Azam FC, Uganda Cranes defender Nicolas Wadada has been shortlisted among the 30 players for the 2019/2020 Tanzania Vodacom Premier League player of the year award.

In the just concluded campaign, Wadada managed one goal and made eight assists as his team finished third on the 20-team log with 70 points.

“Am happy and proud that I have been nominated among the 30 players for the player of the year award,” Wadada told Football256 from his base in Dar-es-Salaam before adding.

“Despite the fact that the season has not been that easy on our side as a team, it really shows that I did a great job as an individual throughout.”

“After falling short of winning the title, we thought that at least we could have finished second but all that didn’t happen as we finished third.”

“But I think that’s what God had prepared for us but we are still determined to bounce back even stronger and perform better next season.”

“All am praying for right now is God to help me make it to the final three so that I can reach the podium,” he added.

As Wadada’s Azam finished third, Simba were crowned champions after collecting 88 points whereas Young Africans FC finished second on 72 points.

The 30-man list will be cut to ten and it’s from those that the final three will be chosen for the award.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for Saturday August 7th, 2020 at a glam dinner event at the Mlimani City Hall in Ubungo, Dar-es-Salaam.

The 26-year old right-back joined Azam FC from Ugandan side Vipers SC in 2018 on a three-year contract which he extended with a further one year recently, now running until July 2022.

Other notable nominees include Ugandan born Rwanda international Meddie Kagere who scored 22 goals for Simba, Zambian midfielder and Simba player of the year Clatous Chama.

Shomari Kapombe, Aishi Manula, Francis Kahata, John Bocco, Jonas Mkude, Luis Miquissone as well as Wadadda’s teammates Idd Nado and Obrey Chirwa also made the initial shortlist.

The provisional list of players for MVP gong

Azam: Nicolas Wakiro Wadada, Idd Nado, Obrey Chirwa
Simba: Meddie Kagere, Shomari Kapombe, Ashi Manula, Clatous Chama, Francis Kahata, John Raphael Bocco, Jonas Mkude, Luis Miquissone
Young Africans: David Molinga, Feisal Salum, Deus Kaseke, Juma Abdul, Balama Mapinduzi
Kagera Sugar: Awesu Awesu, Yusuph Mhilu, David Luhende
Biashara United: Daniel Mgore, Abdulmajid Mangalo
Coastal Union: Bakari Mwannyeto, Ayoub Lyanga
Namungo: Blaise Bigirimana, Lusajo Reliants
Alliance: Martin Kigi
Lipuli: Daruweshi Saliboko
Polisi Tanzania: Marcel Kaheza

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button